Stories Engagingly Expressed - Illustratively Told

Given each year in collaboration between EBSCO and the CBC Graphic Novel Committee to celebrate the youth graphic novel with the highest literary quality.

Submissions for the 2018 SEE-IT Award will open on October 5th. Please see the updated FAQ for more details.

2017 SEE-IT Award Winner
The Imitation Game: Alan Turing Decoded

Author: Jim Ottaviani
Illustrator: Leland Purvis
Publisher: Abrams Comic Arts

Watch a special message from Gene Luen Yang, National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature

Watch the Video

2017 Finalists

2017 Winner
The Imitation Game: Alan Turing Decoded

Author: Jim Ottaviani
Illustrator: Leland Purvis


Author & Artist: Rob Cham

March: Book Three

Author: John Lewis
Author: Andrew Aydin
Illustrator: Nate Powell

The Nameless City

Author: Faith Erin Hicks
Colorist: Jordie Bellaire

Rendez-vous in Phoenix

Author & Artist: Tony Sandoval

Snow White: A Graphic Novel

Author & Artist: Matt Phelan

The Jurors

Gail de Vos

University of Alberta School of Library and Information Studies

Author of 9 books on storytelling, comics, folklore and popular culture, de Vos is a professional storyteller and educator with a course on comics.

Leigh Anne Focareta

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh

Focareta works at the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh and advises the Core Collection Fiction, Nonfiction, and Graphic Novels collections.

Francisca Goldsmith

Library and Media Consultant

Goldsmith advises international children’s publishers, teaches, and writes articles and books such as the Reader’s Advisory Guide to Graphic Novels.

John Meier

Pennsylvania State University

An expert in science titles and STEM graphic novels, Meier helped the Pennsylvania Center for the Book launch the Lynd Ward Graphic Novel Prize.

Michael Pawuk

Cuyahoga County Public Library

Author of Graphic Novels: A Genre Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and More, Pawuk helped to create YALSA's Great Graphic Novels for Teens annual list.

Rebecca B. Vargha

School of Information and Library Science at UNC Chapel Hill

Past-president of SLA and active in IFLA, Vargha is an award-winning faculty member with expertise in Knowledge Management & Collection Development.

Linda Ward-Callaghan

Joliet Public Library

Ward-Callaghan won the Davis Cup for service to young people in 2013 and has served on award committees including the Newbery, Caldecott and Geisel.