Submissions Now Open for the 2018 John Cotton Dana Award

~ $10,000 Development Awards will go to up to Eight Winners ~

IPSWICH, Mass. — February 6, 2018The American Library Association (ALA) is now accepting submissions for the John Cotton Dana Awards (JCD). The John Cotton Dana Awards are managed by the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA) division of ALA and honor outstanding library public relations.

Each year, up to eight $10,000 awards are granted by the H.W. Wilson Foundation. The H.W. Wilson Foundation was established in 1952 by Halsey W. Wilson, founder of The H.W. Wilson Company. Since 1957, they have supported scholarship grants to all library schools accredited by the American Library Association in the United States and Canada. The John Cotton Dana Awards will be presented to winners at an ALA-Annual awards ceremony, sponsored by ALA and EBSCO Information Services.

Applications for the 2018 John Cotton Dana Awards are to be submitted electronically and received by March 16, 2018. More information, including entry documents, can be found at:

Libraries of all types and sizes are encouraged to submit entries for the 2018 John Cotton Dana Awards. Each entry should represent a strategic communications campaign from the past year and examples of past campaigns that have included rebranding efforts, promotion of archives and special collections, awareness campaigns, community partnerships and special events. Entries may be submitted by any library, Friends group, consulting agency or service provider, unless they are represented on the JCD Committee.

Entries for the JCD Award are organized around needs assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation. Entrants are asked to submit documentation to show the scope and effectiveness of their campaign. Examples of these documents may include initial assessments and research, processes for implementation, goals met, creative output, media releases, media coverage and other metrics that establish results.

About the John Cotton Dana Award
The John Cotton Dana Award was inaugurated at the 1946 annual conference of the American Library Association. It was named after John Cotton Dana (1856-1929), a librarian called the father of the modern library.

About EBSCO Information Services
EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO) is the leading discovery service provider for libraries worldwide with more than 10,000 discovery customers in over 100 countries. EBSCO Discovery Service™ (EDS) provides each institution with a comprehensive, single search box for its entire collection, offering unparalleled relevance ranking quality and extensive customization. EBSCO is also the preeminent provider of online research content for libraries, including hundreds of research databases, historical archives, point-of-care medical reference, and corporate learning tools serving millions of end users at tens of thousands of institutions. EBSCO is the leading provider of electronic journals & books for libraries, with subscription management for more than 360,000 serials, including more than 57,000 e-journals, as well as online access to more than 800,000 e-books. For more information, visit the EBSCO website at: EBSCO Information Services is a division of EBSCO Industries Inc., a family owned company since 1944.


For more information, please contact:
Kathleen McEvoy
Vice President of Communications
(800) 653-2726 ext. 2594

Share this: