The American Mosaic: The African American Experience

Providing a comprehensive survey of African American history, The African American Experience from ABC-CLIO shows students the challenges and contributions of African Americans across political, social, artistic, and literary contexts.

An Extensive African American Historical Catalog

Available in both academic and school versions, The American Mosaic: African American Experience covers history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, medicine, and more.

Developed by African-American librarians and subject specialists and organized by era, this vast and accessible database covers African American history and its relation to U.S. history through published articles, essays, objects and artifacts, ideas and movements, images, documents, and other historical and culturally valuable sources. Other features include: 

  • Commentaries from noted scholars that reflect multiple points of view and stimulate critical thinking
  • Standards-based curriculum updated daily by a team of subject-specific editorial experts and supported by an extensive range of instructional material
  • Basic and advanced search options to return the most relevant results
  • Academic Success Corner with resources to help students develop reading, writing and research skills
  • Educator Support Site containing valuable professional development tools, curriculum guides, lesson plans and more

Topic Centers Include: 

  • Africa and the Atlantic: 500–1550
  • Africans in Colonial North America: 1550s–1760
  • Hopes for a New Nation: 1763–1816
  • Antebellum: 1816–1846
  • Civil War and Emancipation: 1846–1877
  • Rise of Jim Crow: 1877–1895
  • The Progressive Era: 1895–1917
  • World War I to the Great Depression: 1917–1939
  • World War II and Post-War Integration: 1939–1954
  • Civil Rights Movement: 1954–1965
  • Black Power Movement: 1965–1979
  • Urban Politics and the Shifting Landscape: 1979–1991
  • Dawning of a New Era: 1992–2000
  • New Millennium: 2001–Present